Origins of the Congregation
Faith United Church of Christ was founded on May 27th, 1962.  Faith was created by the merger of an Evangelical and Reformed church (Second) and a former Christian Church congregation (Trinity).  These two churches represented three of the four founding strands of the current day United Church of Christ, the other being Congregational.  The history of those two predecessor churches can be traced back to the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.

Long ago this church stated:

“The avowed purpose of this Church shall be:
the worship of the Triune God,
the preaching of the Gospel of Jesus Christ,
the practice of loving service toward the needy,
the building of the Kingdom of Righteousness,
the furtherance of Christian Unity, and
the promotion of Christian Fellowship.”

Moving Forward
Throughout Faith’s first fifty years Faith has successfully reached out through several social justice efforts; including the building of a house at Emmaus Homes, the building of a Habitat for Humanity home, and major support for the building of another Habitat home.  Faith has also been heavily connected to Brooklawn children’s home.  For the past fifteen years we have financed such outreach projects through our annual Fish Fry and our “Building for Faith” program.

Faith in the 21st Century
At the onset of our second fifty years, Faith has already made a commitment to servant leadership. In 2012, to celebrate our 50th anniversary, Faith raised and then gave away $50,000. Around the same time Faith established a partnership with Gleaners Food Bank in order to grow our capacity to serve the community through our Food and Clothing pantry.

In 2017 Faith will send its first group of teens and adults to serve with the Appalachian Service Project. This is the beginning of a renewed focus on creating an environment at Faith UCC where kids, young adults and people young in their faith can grow in their relationship with Jesus Christ.

Ministers of Faith United Church of Christ

Richard F. Rasche                                  1962 – 1963
Otto J. Scheib                                          1962 – 1963
Donald F. Lehman                                  1963 – 1972
Donald E Crismon                                   1972 – 1983
Bruce W. Fischer                                     1984 – 1990
Louis G. Wargo                                         1991 – 1995
James A Winters                                      1997 – 2001
Bruce O. Smith                                        2003 – 2006
Lynda Clark                                               2009 – 2009
Kurt A. Walker                                          2010 – 2015
Scott M. Simmons                                2016 – Present